SAFF Championship 2013: Nepal Vs Bangladesh preview

saffchampionshipNepal and Bangladesh is always a tightly contested battle. Host Nepal will be out there for avenge as they had lost its match against Bangladesh in the AFC Challenge Cup qualifiers 2-0 in the same venue. But Nepal has sweet memories of their meetings in SAFF Championship as they had won 1-0 in the previous edition held in 2011.


SAFF Championship 2013: All the 8 participating teams at a glance

saffchampionshipAs SAFF Championship 2013 is about to start, team brings you with a brief team profile along with squad details for the SAFF Championship.


India is a force to be reckoned with among the SAFF nations despite its limited success beyond SAFF. India has made it to the finals of the SAFF Championship all but once which was in the year 2003 and winning it on 6 occasions. The defending champions are the strongest contender for the title this time around as well even though each team participating are of almost equal stature.


Subrata Paul has safe hand infront of the goal. Nirmal Chettri and Arnab Mondal will be protecting as a shield against opposition. Versatile Syed Nabi as well as Mehtab Hussain are the team’s fulcrum. Captain charisma and talisman Sunil Chettri will lead the line supported by Jeje Lalpekhula and Robin Singh.

Goalkeepers: Subrata Paul, Karanjit Singh, Sandip Nandy.

Defenders: Nirmal Chettri, Arnab Mondal, Gouramangi Singh, Raju Gaikwad, Sandesh Jhingan, Mohanraj Nalappan.

Midfielders: Syed Rahim Nabi, Mehtab Hussain, Arata Izumi, Lenny Rodriguez, Alwyn George, Jewel Raja Shaikh, Francis Fernandes.

Forwards: Sunil Chhetri, Robin Singh, Dawson Fernandes, Jeje Lalpekhlua.