Huge expectations on MMC at President's Cup

mmcHuge expectations on Manang at President's Cup
Sept. 16- Laxmi Hyundai Manang Marshyangdi Club will go into the AFC President's Cup amid huge expectations from thousands of Nepali supporters.

Coach Nabin Nepaune, former Nepal international and a former player of the team, said that they wanted to make Nepal proud by bringing home the trophy for the first time.

"We have prepared well for about one and half months for the event. The boys are fit as we have dedicated much of our time in physical fitness," said Neupane.

Neupane's team played a couple of matches with local team as part of their preparation and had taken the recently held ANFA Cup as a test of their strength, but Manang crashed out from the championship in the first day itself going down to eventual winners Jhapa.

Neupane said that the team had learnt what they had been lacking and have worked to amend their mistakes.

"In the ANFA Cup we lacked in defense. We have worked on that and we have also added two more players to strengthen our defense. We have loaned Jitendra Karki from Army and we have called in our former player Leonel Stephen Mbile back in the squad. I hope this will give us some strength in our defense," added Neupane.

For Neupane, the first match against Sri Lanka is the most important as it will help them gain the confidence they need in the championship to advance. The second match against FC HTTU is against Turkmenistan is by no means is easy. "The first match will give us a knowledge where we lack and what kind of strategy we have to build," he added.

This is the second time Manang is participating in the championship with the first being in 2004. Manang advanced to the finals of the AFC President's Cup after topping Group C in the group stages where they downed Cambodian outfit Svarieng FC 6-3 and drew 0-0 with FC Erchim of Mongolia.

Manang squad


Kumar Raj Bhattarai (Manager), Nabin Neupane (Coach)

Squad List

Anil Gurung (FW), Manish Ghale (DF), Rupesh K.c.(MF), Sulav Maskey (MF), Shiva Shrestha (MF), Sagar Thapa (DF), Sujal Shrestha (MF), Nirajan Malla (FW) (FW), Dipak Rai (FW), Jitendra Karki (DF), Bikram Limbu (DF), Biraj Maharjan (DF), Birendra Bahadur Chand (GK), Bishal Rai (MF), Deepak Bhusal (DF), Bishal Shrestha (GK), Leonel Stephen Mbile (DF), Zikahi Leonce Dodoz (FW).