Nepal advance to semis

nepal vs pakistan

Nepal advanced to semi-finals of the Third SAFF Women’s Championship defeating Pakistan 2-0 at the Jinnah Stadium in Islamabad on Friday.

Nepal needed first half goals from Anu Lama and Sajana Rana to confirm their berth in the last four of the championship with six points. Sri Lanka also moved through following their 3-0 win over Bhutan in the first match of Group B today. Sunday’s match between the two teams will decide who will go through as the winner of the group.

Nepal came into the match on the back of an impressive 8-0 win over Bhutan. And going by Nepal’s performance in the first 23 minutes against Pakistan today and if Nepal’s previous records over Pakistan was anything to go by, it would have been another one-sided win for Nepal, who had scored twice inside 23 minutes through Anu Lama in 13th minute and Sajan Rana in the 23rd minute.  

Previously, Nepal had routed Pakistan 12-0 in 2010 and 8-0 in 2012, but Pakistan appeared a different side after conceding the two goals, screwing up their defense and restricting Nepal to just two goals. Sajana Rana could have it 3-0 later in the second half in the 77nd minute through a penalty but was denied by the keeper. She had scored the first goal also through a penalty awarded for a foul on Renuka Nagarkoti in the 22nd minute.

Commenting on the match, coach Kumar Katwal said he was not satisfied with the team formation he had created. He also rued the missed opportunities of the team.

Likewise, Nepal captain Anu Lama said the match turned out to very competitive than she had imagined. Like her coach, she also rued the missed chances.

On the other hand, Pakistan coach said it was the best performance Pakistan had put up in a decade. He complimented the Nepal team, saying they are a very strong side.


Nepal steamroller Bhutan 8-0 in women’s football

nepal vs bhutan

Nepal floored Bhutan 8-0 in their South Asian Football Federation (Saff) Women's Championship campaign opener on Wednesday at the Jinnah Stadium in Islamabad.

The last year's runners-up dominated the match from the outset, taking an early lead in the 10th minute through Sanjana Rana's goal.

Manuka Giri doubled the lead in the 22nd minute, while captain Anu Lama struck two in the 36th and 38th minute, while Sanjana concluded the first half with her second goal in the 45th minute as Nepal led 6-0 at the interval.

Deepa Adhikari then scored a brace in the second half and Sabitra sealed the win in the 89th minute of the second Group B match.

"We're here to win the title, plain and simple," Nepal coach Darshan Bhaktar Raj Lawat told The Express Tribune. "Winning is what matters the most. We've been finalists in the previous two editions of the championship, so now nothing less than the trophy will be enough for us."

Lawat said that this is the first time his team is visiting Pakistan and the experience has been more than satisfactory so far, adding that he is proud of his team's performance in the opening match.

"Three of my players have scored more than two goals each, which is something to appreciate," said Lawat, as his team celebrated the win in the background.

Meanwhile, captain Anu said her wish is to become the player of the tournament. "South Asian Games are the biggest competitions for us," she said. "I've been playing football for 11 years now, and it will be a great achievement to be able to win a title for my country."

Nepal will face Pakistan in their next match tomorrow, while India will begin their Group A matches against Maldives and Afghanistan will play against Bangladesh on Thursday.

Source: The Express Tribune

44 players called for national women’s team selection

apf vs westernNepal women's team coach Kumar Katwal has called 44 players for the selection of the national team for the upcoming SAFF Women's Championship in Pakistan in November.

Out of the 44 players, 37 players were selected from the recently held Western Union Women's League in Chitwan, while the remaining are regular members of the national team. The players were selected by coaches Kumar Katwal and Darshan Bhaktaraj.

Players from Nepal Army dominate the list, with 12 players called for the selection. Nepal Police and APF have 10 each of their players in the list of 37 players.

The training camp will start from Sunday and a total of 20 players will be finalized. Nepal have advanced to the finals of the SAFF championship twice before, going down to India on both occasions.

The players are:

Selected from the Western Union Women's League

Namita Kumar Dali (Police), Lila Lamghade (Army), Angela Tumbapo (APF), Chanda Devi Daha (APF), Kalpana Karki (Purbanchal), Ghim Kumar Gurung (Police), Amrita Jaisi (Police), Menuka Giri (Police), Mana Maya Limbu (APF), Geet Rana (APF), Poonam Magar (Army), Anita Kuwar (Army), Nisha Bohora (Army), Sunita Chaudhary (Army), Yasodha Lama Thokar (Police), Sapana Thebe (Police), Reena Gobaju (Police), Rupa Magar (Police), Renuka Nagarkoti (APF), Anita Basnet (APF), Manisha Chaudhary (APF), Madhu Mukhiya (APF), Samrachana Pradhan (Ilam), Sunila Yonzon (Rautahat), Nirmala KC (Rautahat), Deepa Rai (Army), Bhujunga Rai (Army), Indira Rai (Army), Kabita Dhimal (Army), Harmila Thapa Magar (Army), Anjali Waiba (Army), Sajana Rana (APF), Sapana Rai (APF), Sabitra Bhandari (APF), Neru Thapa (Police), Nirmala Sunwar (Police), Deep Neupane (Army).

Regular members

Chandra Bhandari (Police), Deepa Adhikari (Army), Kishna Khatri (Army), Anu Lama (APF), Bhagwati Thapa (APF), Usha Bhandari (APF), Laxmi Paudel (APF).